This coffee addict might need to take a step back.

So today’s post was quite hard for me to figure out because everything was super hectic at my job today. Easter and Mother’s days are two of the busiest days of days in the restaurant world. With special menus and reservations out the wah-zoo, holiday’s can be quite crazy. So during all of the hubbub of the holiday, I was wondering what I wanted to eat. (Employee’s at the restaurant I work in get 50% off of selected items: gyro’s, chicken nuggets, chicken sandwich, kids meal.)

But as I was looking at the list, I noticed there was no beef. My manager has mentioned that the prices of specific food gave gone up. Now I’m a carnivore. I love burgers and things so I decided this week was going to be about food pricing and how to eat…cheaper, for lack of a better word.

According to a recent USA Today article, these food are 5 of the top 10 fastest price-rising foods people are consuming today:

  1. Bacon
  2. Ground Beef
  3. Oranges – Seriously? Oranges are expensive?!
  4. Coffee
  5. Peanut Butter

Okay I’m going to cover 1, 2 and 4.

Bacon might be one of my favorite things on this entire earth, no joke. A grilled chicken sandwich with provolone, lettuce, and bacon: amazing! However, according to this article, the price of bacon in the last year has gone up 13%. Maybe broke college students should stay away from bacon. Plus it’s probably healthier to stick without it, so here is a vegan recipe for a “bacon substitute”.

Now about this ground beef, because my job has really good burgers, and I just don’t want to to pay for a burger. According to this article, 1 lb. of beef is $4.13. That is the untrimmed meat, not the super organic, lean meat. That’s a 35% increase. No wonder my burger is $11 (that includes fries or any other side). I think it’s time to stick to chicken. I don’t even want to know how much that has risen. Here is an article talking about the differences between ground beef and ground turkey.

Now this next food group makes me really upset because I literally cannot function without it: coffee. As a college student trying to balance a full schedule of both classes and working and maybe two nights a week of sleep, coffee is my savior. Literally. The article says that 1 lb. of coffee is $5.00. Honestly, that doesn’t surprise me at all. Since Brazil’s main export is coffee and they’re having a drought, I would assume that it makes it a little difficult to transport the beans to make your Grande Americano from Starbucks. (It really doesn’t help this broke college student when there’s a Starbucks in the library. Whoever thought that up that idea was a genius.) So here are some other alternatives to your morning coffee.

After writing this, I decided I think it’s time to change some of my eating habits so that I can actually afford school. (I really like Starbucks.)

One thought on “This coffee addict might need to take a step back.

  1. Kathy

    Your article has given me a new way to think about pricing in restaurants; thanks! And, thanks for the links.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

